SOM Grants

Congratulations to the following researchers for obtaining extramural funding from federal, state, and independent sources between January 1 – Febraury 28, 2017!

NOTE: the Office of the Dean provided the information below to The Pulse.  If there is any information that was inadvertently omitted, please contact the editor ( so a correction can be printed in the next issue of The Pulse.

National Institutes of Health – R01:

  • Wayne Backes, Ph.D. (Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics)
  • Jason Gardner, Ph.D. (Physiology), Xinping Yue, M.D., Ph.D. (Physiology) and Eric Lazartigues, Ph.D. (Pharmacology) – multiple PI

National Institutes of Health – R21:

  • Yaguang Xi, M.D., Ph.D. (Genetics)

National Science Foundation:

  • Sunyoung Kim, Ph.D. (Biochemistry)


  • Sunyoung Kim, Ph.D. (Biochemistry)
  • Michael Lan, Ph.D. (Genetics)
  • Ashok Ayar, Ph.D. (Microbiology, Immunology, and Parasitology)

University and Private Hospitals:

  • Melissa Ann Spera, M.D. (Gastroenterology)
    • University of Colorado
  • Kellen Jex, M.D. (Gastroenterology)
    • University of Colorado

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC):

  • Matthew Lammi, M.D. (Pulmonary/Critical Care and Allergy/Immunology)

Pharmaceuticals and Companies:

  • Clifford Crutcher, M.D. (Neurosurgery)
    • CoreLink Surgical
    • Stryker Craniomaxillofacial
  • Anthony DiGiorgio, D.O. (Neurosurgery)
    • Globus Medical
  • Adam Riker, M.D., F.A.C.S. (Surgery)
    • NewLink Genetics Corp.