SOM Grants and Contracts

Congratulations to the following researchers for obtaining extramural funding from federal, state, and/or independent sources between July 1 – August 31, 2017!  

NOTE: The Office of the Dean provided the information below to The Pulse.  If there is any information that was inadvertently omitted, please contact the editor ( so a correction can be printed in the next issue of The Pulse. 

 National Institutes of Health R01: 

  • Carmen Canavier, Ph.D. (Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy) 

Foundations and National Associations: 

  • Hamid Boulares, Ph.D. (Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics) 
  • American Association of Immunologists 
  • Benjamin Springgate, M.D. (Department of Internal Medicine) 
  • University of California, Los Angeles 
  • National Academies, Institute of Medicine 
  • Jeffrey Wang, M.D., Ph.D. candidate 
  • American Heart Association 

Pharmaceutical, and Company Grants:  

  • Clifford Crutcher, M.D. (Department of Neurosurgery) 
  • Stryker Spine – National Office 
  • Matthew Lammi, M.D. (Pulmonary/Critical Care and Allergy/Immunology) 
  • Pharmaceuticals Research Associates, Inc. 
  • Frank Lau, M.D. (Department of Surgery) 
  • MiMedx Group, Inc. 
  • David Lefer, Ph.D. (Director, Cardiovascular Center of Excellence) 
  • Exscien Corp. 
  • Paul LeLorier, M.D. (Department of Internal Medicine) 
  • Biotronik 
  • Adam Podet, M.D. (Department of Neurosurgery) 
  • Globus Medical