Faculty Assembly

John Hunt, M.D.
Faculty Assembly President

The SOM Faculty Assembly met on November 1 and December 7, 2017.

At both meetings, we reviewed standing reports from The Executive committee, The School of Medicine Administrative Council, and the Faculty Senate.  Business items discussed at both meetings included:

Housekeeping issues on campus, specifically the restrooms in MEB – With the help of Dean Nelson we involved the Facilities Department with some positive results.  The overall cleanliness of the restrooms are improved.  The Facilities Department replaced or repaired a number of the lavatory facilities.  There are still some that will require extensive plumbing repairs and will be repaired later.  We will monitor progress.

Safety on campus – This was discussed in the Assembly and in executive session with the Dean.  There was a stakeholders meeting demonstrating some coordination between the schools and the hospital, an improvement over the past.  We discussed more effective ways to distribute safety information and crime alerts.  The Faculty Senate will handle this issue since it involves all of the schools, not just the Medical School.

LCME visit – Dr Richard DiCarlo, as the outgoing Dean of Students, was an invited guest and reviewed the LCME visit.  The exit visit synopsis, by the site visitors, was very favorable.  They noted only five minor, and easily correctable, deficiencies out of 93 categories.  The final adjudication is with the LCME, but looks very favorable at this point.  Good job, to all the people in the Offices of Student Affairs and Medical Education.

Part-time Faculty – Dr. Richard DiCarlo, as the new incoming Dean of Faculty, also discussed the role and representation of part-time faculty at the institution.  There are over 100 part-time faculty at the medical school.  We will survey these part-time faculty and the chairs of departments with a substantial number of part-time faculty to make sure they are represented appropriately on the Faculty Assembly and other aspects of institutional life, such as committee representation.

If you would like to add to the above mentioned issues or there are important issues that you think the Faculty Assembly needs to address, please contact us via the website suggestion box at http://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/faculty_assembly/ or one of your faculty assembly representatives:



Email Department Telephone Executive Committee
Clinical Science 2015-2018
Guillory, Shane sguil1@lsuhsc.edu Med 568-5722
Gottlieb-Sen, Danielle dsen@lsuhsc.edu Surgery 568-4750
Happel, Kyle khappe@lsuhsc.edu Med-Pulm/CC 568-4634 Admin. Council Rep
Hetzler, Laura (BR) lhetzl@lsuhsc.edu ENT 225-765-1765
Hunt, John jhunt2@lsuhsc.edu Surgery 568-4750 President
Lee, Olivia olee2@lsuhsc.edu Orthopedics 568-4680
McGoey, Robin rmcgoe@lsuhsc.edu Pathology 568-6031
Oge, Linda (LAF) loge@lsuhsc.edu Family Med 337-278-4121
Clinical Science 2016-2019
Ali, Murtuza mali@lsuhsc.edu Med (Cardio) 617-997-9160
Callahan, Kristin kcall1@lsuhsc.edu Psychiatry 568-6004
Delacroix, Scott sdelac@lsuhsc.edu Urology 412-1600
Holman, Stacey sholma@lsuhsc.edu OB/Gyn 568-4850
Houser, Marcella mhouse@lsuhsc.edu Pediatrics 896-2777
Mooney, Jennifer jmoone@lsuhsc.edu Surgery 568-4750
Prasad, Pinki pprasa@lsuhsc.edu Pediatrics 896-9740 Secretary/Treasurer
Spieler, Brad bspie1@lsuhsc.edu Radiology 568-5523
Surcouf, Jeffrey jsurco@lsuhsc.edu Pediatrics 896-9418
Clinical Science 2017-2020
DeSilva, Taniya tdesil@lsuhsc.edu Med (Endo) 617-997-9160
Hart, Jennifer jhart@lsuhsc.edu Med 568-5722
Kamboj, Sanjay skampo@lsushc.edu Med 568-5722
Lilje, Christian clilje@lsuhsc.edu Pediatrics 896-9751
Orangio, Guy gorang@lsuhsc.edu Surgery 568-4750
Polite, Florencia fpolit@lsuhsc.edu OB/Gyn 568-4850
Rivera, Dana driver@lsuhsc.edu Pediatrics 896-9418
Roth, Christopher croth@lsuhsc.edu Urology 568-2207
Basic Science 2015-2018
Campeau, Lisa lcampe@lsuhsc.edu Anatomy 568-2792
Lentz, Jennifer jlentz@lsuhsc.edu NC/ENT 599-0400
Levitzky, Mike mlevit@lsuhsc.edu Physiology 568-6184
Winsauer, Peter pwinsa@lsuhsc.edu Pharmacology 568-2063
Basic Science 2016-2019
Gardner, Jason jgardn@lsuhsc.edu Physiology 568-7252
Kapusta, Daniel dkapus@lsuhsc.edu Pharmacology 568-4740
Kelly, Ben bkell2@lsuhsc.edu MIP 568-6115
Sturtevant, Joy jsturt@lsuhsc.edu MIP 568-6116
Basic Science 2017-2020
Crabtree, Judy jcrabt@lsuhsc.edu Genetics 568-2963 Admin. Council Rep
Goodchild, Traci tgoodc@lsuhsc.edu Pharmacology 568-3116
Kozlowski, Pamela pkozlo@lsuhsc.edu MIP 568-6956
Taylor, Christopher ctay15@lsuhsc.edu MIP 568-4065 President Elect