Women in Academia Panel Discussion

Jane Eason, Ph.D.
President, AWIS

Continuing with the mentoring series that started in fall 2016, Association for Women in Science, South Louisiana Chapter (AWIS-SL) presented “Women in Academia: Panel Discussion on Removing the Barriers to Success” on Wednesday, January 24 in the Chancellor’s Dining Room in the Human Development Center.  Four senior level faculty members were invited to participate in the panel discussion: Dr. Patricia Molina, Dr. Kathleen McDonough, Dr. Terry Fontham and Dr. Janis Letourneau.  Each panelist took a few minutes to describe their backgrounds as well as any barriers to career advancements they encountered and described strategies they used to overcome the barrier.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The panelists provided feedback to questions posed from a diverse group of faculty and students representing each of the LSUHSC Schools.  Faculty representatives from each of the LSUHSC Schools have planned additional meetings to continue discussions on gender equality and career mentoring.

The AWIS Southern Louisiana chapter is dedicated to empowering women in science and technology by providing a platform for networking opportunities and career development programs, and to promoting an interest in science among girls and young women.  The AWIS Southern Louisiana chapter welcomes all persons interested in furthering the careers of women in science.

The cost to join the national organization is $150.00 annually as a professional member and $65.00 annual for junior members (students, postdocs).  To join the AWIS-SL chapter only, professional and junior member dues are $25.00 annually and $10.00 annually for students.  We use this money to help fund our Outstanding Young Scientist Travel Award for graduate students/post-docs as well as for other community outreach events.  If you are interested in joining the local AWIS chapter, please contact our treasurer, Dr. Donna Neumann at dneum1@lsuhsc.edu.

If anyone is interested in learning more about us, please contact anyone on the Executive Committee; we would be glad to provide more information.

Local Executive Board members are:

  • Jane Eason (SAHP), President
  • Tekeda Ferguson (SOPH), Secretary
  • Donna Neumann (SOM), Treasurer
  • Angela Amedee (SOM), Past-President
  • Crescent Combe (SOM) – Post-Doc Representative
  • Adrienne McGinn (SOGS) – Graduate Student Representative