LSU SOM Members Receive State Commendation 

Fern Tsien, Ph.D. (Department of Genetics)

April 17th, 2018 was LSU Day at the Louisiana Capitol, where two LSUHSC School of Medicine Initiatives were awarded:

The first was a Commendation by the Louisiana House of Representatives, sponsored by Rep. Julie Stokes for the “Southeast Partnership for Improving Research and Training (SPIRIT)” in cancer health disparities and the partnership’s receipt of a National Institutes of Health (NIH P20) Exploratory Center Grant. Accepting the Commendation were LSU President Dr. F. King Alexander, Genetics faculty member and SPIRIT Co-Investigator Dr. Fern Tsien, and Medical School Dean Dr. Steve Nelson.

The Louisiana Senate approved a Resolution for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) specifically to increase diversity. This resolution was sponsored by Senator Sharon Hewitt and was awarded to Dr. Robert Maupin, Dr. Paula Gregory, and Dr. Fern Tsien for the Science Youth Initiative (SYI), Tiger Cubs, New Orleans Schools Partnership program, Summer Science Program, Summer Health Professions Education Program (SHPEP), Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU), Summer Research Internship Program, Post-Baccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP), and others. Accepting the Resolution were Dr. Allison Augustus-Wallace, Dr. Fern Tsien, Dr. Katrina Gleditsch, Ayesha Umrigar, and Martha Cuccia.