Faculty Assembly Report

Chris Taylor, Ph.D.
Faculty Assembly President

The School of Medicine Faculty Assembly met for the first time of the new academic year on August 2nd, 2018.  We welcomed in our newly seated representatives:

Basic Science: Lisa Campeau, Mike Levitzky, Stefany Primeaux, and Peter Winsauer

Clinical Science: Kyle Fulton, Raegan Gupta, Ernest James, Dana LeBlanc, Margaret Moore, Mihran Naljayan, Staci Olister, and La’Nasha Tanner.

We thanked our outgoing officers for their service, in particular, past President John Hunt was thanked for his service and will remain as an at-large member of faculty assembly.

Leadership positions for the 2018-2019 academic year include:

  • President: Christopher Taylor
  • President Elect: Sanjay Kamboj
  • Secretary: Pinki Prasad
  • Administrative Council Representatives: Kyle Happel (clinical) and Peter Winsauer (basic)
  • Senators: Sanjay Kamboj (Senate President), Judy Crabtree (Senate President-Elect), Bradley Spieler (Senate Past President), Christopher Taylor, Ernest James, Lisa Campeau, Stacey Holman, and John Hunt.

Annette Arboneaux from Human Resources was invited to the last meeting and spoke to the assembly for an hour about recent changes to the 403(b) retirement vendors, along with answering questions regarding reimbursement of prescriptions written by members of LSU First health insurance for members of their own household.  She also discussed the recent change in parking benefits to a post-tax deduction from a pre-tax deduction.

Faculty Assembly meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month at 4pm in Seminar Room 7 of the 6th Floor of the Lions Building and are open to any faculty to attend.  Please reach out to your faculty assembly representatives to bring issues of interest to the general faculty to the assembly’s attention.  The roster of faculty assembly delegates can be found on our website:  https://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/faculty_assembly/