Tiger Run 2018

Aubrey Schacter (Class of 2020) 

The 32nd Annual Tiger Run 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run took place on November 18th in Audubon Park. It was a beautiful day spent with colleagues, friends, and family. Over 150 runners came out to support, and a wonderful time was had by all. After a fast and fun race, runners enjoyed jambalaya and other delicious refreshments. They also participated in various post-race festivities hosted by our student-run organizations, including a health fair, face painting, and other fun activities. Congratulations are due to Kaylin Beiter and Patrick Bernard, the fastest Female and Male 5K runners, respectively. Congratulations are also due to largest and fastest team, the L-Runs, who entered the race with 19 participants.  

Hosted by the LSU School of Medicine Student Government Association, funds from the Tiger Run directly benefit various student-run charitable organizations. This year, funds were allocated to Student Run Homeless Clinics, CORE, Tiger Cubs and NOWS Outreach Program. In addition, the students elected to make a special donation in honor of their late classmate, Seth Bombet. Seth was a counselor at Camp Dreamstreet, a summer camp that benefits children with physical disabilities in the Southeast region, and the organization was very important to him.  

These student-run organizations receive funding from community donations and grants, and much of their support comes from those who generously contribute to the cause and recognize the value that these groups provide to the community. Donations directly fund the organizations and their charitable outreach, and students are grateful for any financial assistance. Donations are handled by the LSU Health New Orleans Foundation, which is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization. If you missed this year’s Tiger Run and would like to help support these student-run organizations, please visit the LSU Health New Orleans Foundation web page today.  

Special thanks to Mr. John Melvin, The Talley Family, Costa del Mar, Insanitea Kombucha, Zapp’s, LSU Medical Alumni Association, Campus Federal, Sonic, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgical Associates, Dr. DaShawn Bakari, Dr. Anh Lee, Dr. Amanda Bray, and Dr. Raymond Watts for their contributions to the event.