In the Spotlight

Efrain Reisin

Efrain Reisin MD, FACP, FASN, FASH

Victor Chaltiel Professor of Medicine
Chief, Section of Nephrology and Hypertension

Dr. Efrain Reisin, Victor Chaltiel Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Section of Nephrology and Hypertension, joined the faculty of Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans in 1982. He maintains an active funded clinical and basic research program in Hypertension and Kidney Diseases, with a focus on functional and structural damages caused by metabolic syndromes, obesity, and diabetes.

He is the author of more than 150 scientific original publications, review articles and book chapters. Most notably, “The Anatomy of Success: The Top 100 Cited Scientific Reports Focused on Hypertension Research” published in 2014 includes one of Dr. Reisin’s publications in the area of Obesity Hypertension, an article which was also deemed a “Citation Classic” by Current Contents in 1998.

Dr. Reisin was the recipient of the Shalit Award for Research by the Ramat Gan Medical Society, Israel (1975), of the Tinsley Harrison Award by the American Journal of the Medical Sciences (2010), and the recipient of the Kidney Hero Award given by the National Kidney Foundation of Louisiana (2015).

Additionally, Dr. Reisin has held numerous national leadership positions. He currently sits on the Editorial Board of the AJMS and the JASH, and he is a Section Editor of Current Hypertension Reports. He was the Chairman of the American Society of Nephrology Hypertension Advisory Group (2010- 2016); served as a panel Member of the Consensus Development Conference on Gastrointestinal Surgery for Severe Obesity by the NIH (1990); and a Member of The Hypertension in the Elderly Expert Consensus Document by the American College of Cardiology (2009-2010).

Dr. Reisin graduated from the National University of Cordoba, Argentina, completing his residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Nephrology at the Tel Hashomer Hospital, Tel Aviv University in Israel. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Society of Nephrology, the American Society of Hypertension and the High Blood Pressure Research Council of the American Society of Cardiology.