SOM Grants and Contracts

Congratulations to the following researchers for obtaining extramural funding from federal, state, and/or independent sources between April 1 – May 31, 2018!

NOTE: The Office of the Dean provided the information below to The Pulse.  If there is any information that was inadvertently omitted, please contact the editor ( so a correction can be printed in the next issue of The Pulse.

National Institutes of Health (R01):

  • Haydee Bazan, Ph.D. (Neuroscience Center of Excellence)
  • Nicolas Bazan, M.D., Ph.D. (Neuroscience Center of Excellence)
  • Chu Chen, Ph.D. (Neuroscience Center of Excellence)
  • Patricia Molina, M.D., Ph.D. (Department of Physiology)
  • Zhiquiang Qin, M.D., Ph.D. (Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Parasitology)

National Institutes of Health (K23 or K99):

  • Sarah Jolley, M.D. (Department of Pulmonary/Critical Care & Allergy, Immunology)
  • Derrick Samuelson, Ph.D. (Department of Internal Medicine)

National Institutes of Health (F30):

  • Katelyn Robillard (Neuroscience Center of Excellence)

Department of Defense:

  • Hong Xin, M.D., Ph.D. (Department of Pediatrics)

Foundations and National Associations:

  • Thomas Sharpe, III, Ph.D. (Cardiovascular Center of Excellence)
    • American Heart Association
  • Scott Edwards, Ph.D. (Department of Physiology)
    • American Physiological Society
  • Matthew Lammi, M.D. (Department of Pulmonary/Critical Care & Allergy, Immunology)
    • Scleroderma Foundation
  • Danielle Gottlieb-Sen, M.D. (Department of Surgery)
    • Thoracic Surgery Foundation

Institutional Grants

  • Traci Goodchild, Ph.D. (Cardiovascular Center of Excellence)
    • LSU, Baton Rouge
  • Richard Vander Heide, M.D., Ph.D. (Department of Pathology)
    • Wake Forest University HSC

Pharmaceutical and Company Grants:

  • Frank Smart, M.D. (Department of Internal Medicine)
    • Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
  • Vinod Dasa, M.D. (Department of Orthopedics)
    • CartiHeal (2009) Ltd.
  • Brian Boulmay, M.D. (Department of Internal Medicine)
    • Merck & Co., Inc.
  • Frank Culicchia, M.D. (Neuroscience Center of Excellence)
    • NuVasive, Inc.
  • Traci Goodchild, Ph.D. (Cardiovascular Center of Excellence)
    • SAJE Pharma, LLC
  • Gerhard Mundinger, M.D. (Department of Surgery)
    • Stryker Craniomaxillofacial